Find your parish Donate

Ordination of Permanent Deacons in the Diocese of Kildare & Leighlin

The month of October sees the ordination by Bishop Denis Nulty of three candidates to the Permanent Diaconate for the diocese of Kildare & Leighlin. The first Permanent Deacons were ordained for the diocese in October 2013. Now, seven years later, three more will be ordained on different dates in different churches across the diocese.

Vincent Crowley will be ordained on Sunday next, 4th October at 3pm in the Church of the Holy Rosary, Tullow. Liam Dunne will be ordained on Sunday 11th October in the Cathedral of the Assumption, Carlow and Eugene Keyes will be ordained on Sunday 25th October in St. Peter & Paul’s Church, Portlaoise. In light of Covid-19 restrictions there will be three separate ceremonies rather than one large one, as was the case seven years ago. All three ceremonies will adhere to current guidelines as advised by NPHET and public health authorities.

The vocation of deacon in the Church is a specific one. Deacons “strengthened by sacramental grace they are dedicated to the People of God, in conjunction with the bishop and his body of priests, in the service (diakonia) of the liturgy, of the Gospel and of works of charity” (Lumen Gentium §29). Their ministry is therefore a threefold ministry of service to the Word of God, to the Altar and to Charity, especially the service of the poor.

The director of the Permanent Diaconate in the diocese is Fr. Ruairí Ó’Domhnaill PP Newbridge. Bishop Nulty paid tribute to the commitment of Fr. Ruairí and his encouragement to all the permanent deacons. He also thanked the support of their wives and families to the formation process. Bishop Nulty acknowledged the role of Conn Ó’Maoldhomhnaigh, President of Carlow College, St. Patrick’s who took responsibility for the programme of study and preparation for ministry that the three new candidates undertook. These ordinations will bring the number of Permanent Deacons ministering in Kildare & Leighlin to eleven.