## **Happy New Year!**

## **FACTS ABOUT THE CHURCH YEAR**

- The Church year begins on the first Sunday of Advent and ends on the Feast of Christ the King.
- The Church year is divided into different seasons, just like the calendar year.
- We can tell which season we are in by the different coloured vestments that the priest wears when celebrating Mass.



In Advent the priest wears **purple**, the colour of royalty. This reminds us that we are waiting to welcome Christ, the King. The same colour is worn during Lent as a sign of penance.

White or gold vestments are worn for the seasons of Christmas and Easter, times of great joy in the Church Year. These colours are worn for the Feasts of Our Lord, such as the Baptism of The Lord, during the Christmas season, and also for Feasts of Mary, such as the Immaculate Conception, which we celebrate during Advent.





In Ordinary Time, the priest wears **green. Green** is a symbol of life and hope.

Red, the colour of blood, is worn on Palm Sunday and Good Friday, those days when we celebrate the passion of Jesus. Red is also the colour of fire which reminds us of the Holy Spirit. So, red vestments are worn on the Feast of Pentecost and for the sacrament of Confirmation.



## The Church Year is also called the Liturgical Year.

There are **three Liturgical Years A, B, and C.** In each of these three years, we hear the story of Jesus' birth, life, death and resurrection told from the point of view of the different writers of the Gospel.

In Year A, most of the Gospels are from Matthew; in Year B, from Mark; and in Year C, from Luke.

John's Gospel can be heard in all three years, mostly during the Easter Season. This year, in Advent, we begin **Year B!**