€5 (+p&p €2.50)

cheques payable to K&L Diocese

Send to:

Bishops House
Old Dublin Road
Tel: 059-9176725


Biography – Bishop Denis Nulty

Denis Nulty was born in Slane, County Meath on 7 June 1963 to parents Den Nulty and Nan Balfe. He is the youngest of five children, with two brothers and two sisters. The family farm was the home where Denis and his siblings were reared. He attended Primary School at Saint Patrick’s National School, Slane and Secondary School at Saint Patrick’s Classical School, Navan, completing the Leaving Certificate exam in 1981.

Denis entered the seminary at Saint Patrick’s College, Maynooth in September 1981, completing a BA in 1984 and a BD in 1987. He was ordained a Priest for the Diocese of Meath in Saint Patrick’s Church, Slane on 12 June 1988 by Bishop Michael Smith in the presence of Bishop John McCormack.

In September 1988 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Curate in the Cathedral Parish at Mullingar where he served for ten years until 1998. In August 1998 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Parish Priest of Saint Mary’s, Drogheda where he has remained until his episcopal appointment to Kildare & Leighlin.

In 2006 Father Denis followed a course of study in All Hallows College, Dublin, leading to an MA in Management for the Pastoral and Voluntary Services being awarded by DCU.

In September 2006 Bishop Smith appointed Father Denis as Vicar Forane for the Duleek Deanery which comprises seven parishes. Father Denis has been Chairperson of the Council of Priests in the Diocese of Meath for the past eight years.



Glory to God, Alleluia, Holy Holy, The Mystery of Faith, Doxology, Amen, Lamb of God:

Music, Glendalough Mass, Liam Lawton ©2010 GIA Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.

Excerpts from the English translation of The Roman Missal ©2010, International Committee

on English in the Liturgy, Inc. All rights reserved. The First Reading, Second Reading and

Gospel for the Eighteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time C from The Jerusalem Bible ©1966,

1967 and 1968 by Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd. And Doubleday and Company Inc. All

rights reserved. An Phaidir: An Leabhar Aifrinn Rómhanach, Ord an Aifrinn ©Comhdháil

Easpag Caitliceach Éireann. Arna fhoilsiú 2011 ag fóilseacháin, Veritas. Music, Seán O Riada,

ceol an Aifrinn: mara a chanatar i nGaelteacht Chúil Aodha ©1971, Veritas Publications

and the Institute of Catholic Communications. All rights reserved. Psalm 23: Shepherd Me,

O God. Text: Psalm 23; Marty Haugen. Music: Marty Haugen © 1986 GIA Publications,

Inc. All rights reserved. Thanks be to God, Lucien Deiss CSSp. In Alleluia, Amen, © 1983.

Veritas Publications. The Deer’s Cry. Text: Traditional Irish Prayer. Tune: Shaun Davey. ©

Shaun Davey. Shaun Davey Music, Kilmacanogue, Co. Wicklow, Ireland. Used by permission.

Christ be our Light. Words and music: Bernadette Farrell © 1993, Endless is Your Love:

Tom Kenzia © 2010 OCP Publications, 5536 NE Hassalo, Portland, OR 97213. All rights

reserved. Come to the Waters. Music: Lori True, Text: Ruth Duck. © 2003, GIA Publications.

All rights reserved. Veni Creator Spiritus: Liber Hymnarius Cum Invitatoriis & Aliquibus

Responsoriis ©1983 Abbaye Saint-Pierre de Solesmes, ©1998, S. A. La Froidfontaine, France.

Ecce Sacerdos Magnus, Edward Elgar.

Laudate arrangement by Chris de Silva of Morricone, Gabriel’s Oboe ©

Take and Eat. Words: Verses James Quinn, SJ, Refrain Michael Joncas. Tune: Michael Joncas.

©1989, GIA Publications, Inc., Chicago, Illinois. All rights reserved. Tar Anuas, A Spioraid.

Text: Traditional Irish; adapted by Ath. D. O’Laoighaire/ Ár bPaidreacha Duchais. Tune:

Íte O’Donovan, Dublin Choral Foundation, Newman House, 85-86 St Stephen’s Green,

Dublin 2. Used with permission. Holy Ground: Words and Music: Liam Lawton © 2013.

Arrangement by Chris de Silva. Used with permission. Alleluia, Song of the Spirit Tony

Alonso, © GIA Publications, Inc., 2013. All rights reserved.