Following extensive restoration St. Patrick’s Church in Ballyroan, Co. Laois was re-dedicated on 8th May by Monsignor Byrne. Joining the celebrations were priests who had served in the parish previously as well as Brigidine Sisters. It was a memorable day for the people of the area as they gathered in their church which has served as a place of worship since 1840. Gallery now available.
Picture: A tapestry of the original St. Patrick’s Church created in 1823 by Mary Ryan.
Sunday 8th May 2011
Diocesan Administrator Monsignor Brendan Byrne will be the chief celebrant at the the service of rededication on Sunday.
About the Renovation
Since 1840 St. Patrick’s Church has been the place of worship for the people of Ballyroan. Countless men, women and children have passed through its doors over the past 170 years. They have journeyed together celebrating their faith in good times and in bad as members of one Christian community.
While the structure has remained unchanged some adjustments were made internally following the Second Vatican Council. Some work was carried out on the building in 1988. A survey of the church was commissioned in 2009 and following a report on its condition the decision to proceed with renovations and re-ordering was taken by the Parish Finance Committee. McCarthy O’Hora Associates, Portlaoise were appointed as Architect and Project Manager. The work which began in September has been carried out by Garoon Construction Ltd. from Mountmellick.
With the original stained glass windows cleaned and re-leaded, a complete internal re-ordering and refurbishment of the building, and a restoration of the pipe organ the people of Ballyroan now prepare for the re-dedication of their church on Sunday 8th May at 2pm by Monsignor Brendan Byrne VG, Diocesan Administrator.
For more information
V.Rev. Gerard Ahern PPThe Presbytery, Ballinakill Road, Abbeyleix, Co. Laois
Tel: 057-8731135, Email: [email protected]