Kildare & Leighlin Diocesan Appointments 2015

  • Mgr. Caoimhin O’Neill President of Carlow College to retire.
  •  Fr. Conn Ó Maoldhomhnaigh Vice President of Carlow College to become President of Carlow College.
  •  Fr. Fintan Morris, Ferns Diocese to become Vice-President of Carlow College.
  •  Fr. Joe McDermott PP Newbridge & Adm. Caragh to become CC Newbridge & Caragh residing at Caragh.
  •  Fr. Paul Dempsey CC Newbridge to become PP Newbridge & Adm Caragh & Prosperous
  •  Fr. Padraig Shelley CC Tullow to become PP Arles
  •  Fr. Rory Nolan CC Cathedral to become CC Tullow
  •  Fr. John Roche SSCC to become CC Cathedral
  •  Fr. P.J. Madden CC Naas, Sallins & Two-Mile-House to return to the Diocese of Houma-Thibodaux in the United States
  • Fr. Joe O’Neill CC Prosperous to become CC Naas, Two-Mile-House & Sallins
  • Fr. Bill Kemmy returns from sabbatical to become CC Prosperous while continuing to develop iCatholic
  • Fr. Michael Molony CC Kiltegan to retire.
  • Fr. Pat O’Brien SPS Adm Arles to become CC Kiltegan & Rathvilly


“In announcing the diocesan changes for 2015 in the Diocese of Kildare & Leighlin, I pay tribute to the ownership and loyalty to parish that is much in evidence as I continue to visit the many parishes in our diocese.

When a priest is invited to consider a change, a move, a new appointment, he will understandably experience a raft of emotions and reactions. I sincerely thank the thirteen priests involved in this year’s set of appointments for their dedication and loyalty to their parishioners and to the diocese. To those who are retiring or stepping aside this year from more arduous administrative duties, I thank you for the huge commitment you have brought to your parish or diocesan appointment. To those who are newly appointed as Parish Priests I wish you every blessing as you take on pastoral leadership in these challenging times.

Parishioners love their parish and their priests. I am aware that change is never easy for priests or people and I ask the Lord’s blessing on the priests and the parishes that are involved in this year’s changes. The new appointments are all to come into effect on September 1st 2015.”

Bishop Denis Nulty